ConTempo Quartet & Crash Ensemble

 Music for Galway takes ConTempo Quartet and Crash Ensemble to Court

Friday April 4th sees Contemporary Music summonsed to court as Music for Galway presents Galway Ensemble in Residence ConTempo Quartet and Crash Ensemble at Court Room No. 1 at the Galway Courthouse at 8pm.

“The court room is certainly a place of performance and controversy – contemporary music is no stranger to controversy. It is exciting to bring these two worlds together” says Music for Galway’s artistic director Finghin Collins.

The ensembles join forces to celebrate their participation in the EU New Music: New Audiences initiative, sharing music across Europe. The Contemporary Music Centre is the lead Irish partner. The partner ensembles are Crash Ensemble and The Galway Music Residency: Contempo Quartet. Irish participation in this pan European network is supported by Culture Ireland.

The concert will include music from the project's repertoire bank, including Maito by Finnish composer Max Savikangas (dubbed the "Hendrix of the Viola"). As this piece centres on issues of Human Rights, its performance in Court Room No. 2 will bring its own resonance. Music from Norway, Latvia, Britain and Ireland will complete a programme with eclectic instrumentation including strings, electric guitar, marimba, clarinet and electronics.

Following the concert, a panel discussion hosted by Evonne Ferguson of CMC around the writing and performing of contemporary music and the New Music::New Audiences initiative will take place in Court Room No. 1.


Join and hear contemporary music make its case!



Friday 4 April 2014

The Courthouse, 8pm


Simon Holt - Brief candles (Crash Ensemble)

Max Savikangas - Maito (ConTempo Quartet)

Santa Ratniece - Alveoles (ConTempo Quartet)

Øyvind Torvund - Neon Forest Space (Crash Ensemble)

Sam Perkin - Prelude and Fugue for Violin and Marimba (Crash Ensemble and ConTempo Quartet)


Tickets: €20  Concessions: €16  Students (full time): €6

From: Music for Galway 091 705962, Opus 2, High Street or


Music for Galway gratefully acknowledges the support of the Arts Council.