Composing the Island: Here and Now: Crash Ensemble New Music Marathon

Saturday, 24 September 2016

Crash Ensemble 

Roger Doyle 

Raymond Deane 

Andrew Hamilton 

Over three weeks in September (7th – 25th), Composing the Island will present 29 concerts of orchestral, choral, instrumental, song and chamber music by Irish composers written between 1916 and 2016. 

How this music developed, and the times and circumstances in which it was written will unfold over 3 weeks of concerts which will include 6 major orchestral concerts performed by the RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra and the RTÉ Concert Orchestra, concerts of choral, chamber, song, mixed ensembles and instrumental music recitals, by Ireland’s leading performers will including Crash EnsembleChamber Choir IrelandConcordeVanbrugh QuartetFidelio Trio, Hugh Tinney, and Robin Tritschler.

Crash Ensemble's second concert for the series presents music from the here and now including performances by composers  Roger Doyle, Raymond Deane and Andrew Hamilton.                          


Deirdre Gribbin  Invitation to a journey (extract)  (2014)    

Judith Ring  Swelt belly at dawn  (2013)                                                      

Barry O'Halpin  Lipids  (2014)                                         

Roger Doyle  Performance by composer

Linda Buckley  Fiol  (2008)                                                                                                      

Deirdre McKay  Ice Etchings  (2002)                                                                   

Raymond Deane  Performance by composer

Donnacha Dennehy  Bulb  (2006)                                                                              

Andrew Hamilton  Performance by composer

Garrett Sholdice  Tanka for Aki Takahashi (prelude #5)  (2012)

Ed Bennett  Magnetic  (2010)                                                          

Jonathan Nangle  Pause  (2014)                                                                            

Kevin Volans  White Man Sleeps  (1997)           


Sponsored by Bord na Móna and presented by RTÉ and the National Concert Hall as part of RTÉ 1916 and Ireland 2016.