Free State #10

Friday, 5 May 2017

Be the first to hear what’s happening in new music in Ireland.

Crash Ensemble and The National Concert Hall present Free State 10, the most vibrant music from Ireland’s up and coming composing talent, performed by the county’s leading new music group.

FREE STATE #10 is a very fine selection of works by up and coming composers chosen by the players of the ensemble from an anonymous open call. It's brilliant for us to hear the work of composers at the very start of their careers and fascinating to see how new music from Ireland is evolving and developing. Kate Ellis, Crash Artistic Director

2017’s concert was selected from anonymous open submission from Irish by the members of Crash Ensemble.

See where new music is at, check out Free State 10.


Donal Sarsfield: The Snare Piece

Robert Coleman: In Fervorous Frenzy

Daniel McDermott: A Mathematician’s Apology

Timothy Doyle: Veneer

Eric Skytterholm Egan: Fragments | of Shapes | Hewn | in White | Silence

Finola Merivale: Emma Are Eye


Crash Ensemble: Susan Doyle (Flute), Deirdre O’Leary (Clarinet), Colm O'Hara (Trombone), Isabelle O’Connell (Piano), John Godfrey (Electric Guitar), Alex Petcu (Percussion), Mairead Hickey (Violin), Lisa Dowdall (Viola), Kate Ellis (Cello), Malachy Robinson (Double Bass), Camin Gilmore (Double Bass)

Conductor:  David Brophy


Tickets: €15/€10. Early bird €10/€8

Booking: / 01 417 0000