New Release: Kevin Volans' Trumpet,Vibe,Cello, Piano

Wednesday 8th February, 2012

Kevin Volans’ Trumpet, Vibe, Cello, Piano performed by Crash Ensemble.

Recording release date 8.02.2012


When it comes to composers, only a few today could be called true originals, and Kevin Volans is one of them. (John Allison, The Times)


Trumpet, Vibe, Cello, Piano, was written for Crash Ensemble by Kevin Volans on the occasion of his 60th birthday. It premiered on the 9th April 2009 at the ‘Free State: Kevin Volans’ concert at the Project Arts Centre, Dublin.  


Muted ripples blossom delicately like some exotic plant. Pizzicato cello sets the pulse while imperceptible tempo alterations create a hypnotic atmosphere. Pat O’Kelly - The Irish Independent


Recognised as ‘one of the most remarkable musical minds of our time’ (Christopher Ballantine, International Record Review), Volans’ work, principally in the field of chamber and orchestral music, has been regularly performed worldwide. After a productive collaboration with the Kronos Quartet in the 1980s, his Kronos discs, White Man Sleeps and Pieces of Africa broke all records for string quartet disc sales – Africa was number one on the US Classical and world music charts for 26 weeks. Volans’ recent Piano Concerto No. 3 was commissioned by the BBC and premiered in the BBC Proms as part of the Liszt bicentenary in August 2011.


This recording by Crash Ensemble is presented with funding from the Arts Council Music Recording Scheme 2011.


Crash Ensemble is Ireland’s foremost music ensemble and one of the best in the world, as recognised internationally. Crash Ensemble, an Irish new-music collective with international cachet and considerable chops. Washington Post, 2011.


Track purchase:

Press preview copy:  On request from admin [at]



Conductor:               Alan Pierson

Performed by Crash Ensemble:

Kate Ellis: Cello, John Godfrey :Piano,

Roger Moffatt :Percussion,  Andrew Crowley:Trumpet

Production:                    Recorded at Ventry Studios

                                    Sound Engineer: Kieran Lynch

                                    Producer: Jonathan Nangle

                                    Mastering engineer: Jimmy Eadie, Asylum Studios.

                                    Design: Gareth Jones 

Duration                   23 minutes



Neva Elliott | admin [at] or Claire Layton | info [at] |(01) 8586645


Independent release by Crash Ensemble. Presented with funding from the Arts Council Music Recording Scheme 2011.