Broadcast: Free State 9 - The Lyric Concert, 30 June, 7pm

Thursday 26th May, 2016

Crash Ensemble's 'Free State 9' concert will be boardcast on Lyric fm on Thursday June 30th at 7pm in The Lyric Concert, presented by Bernard Clarke.

'Free State 9' is Crash's annual concert of up-and-coming Irish composers. This year it also featured the world premiere of 'The Root and the Crown' our commission by Garrett Sholdice. 

Daniel McDermott: GRiT 
Peter Fahey: Labourd 
Garrett Sholdice: The Root and the Crown [World Premiere]
Neil Quigley: Crutch
Emma O’Halloran: Vertical Fields
Sebastian Adams: 2014.5
Paul Flynn: Still Point

Crash Ensemble were…
Violin: Mairéad Hickey
Viola: Lisa Dowdall
Cello: Kate Ellis
Double Bass: Caimin Gilmore
Flute: Susan Doyle
Clarinet: Deirdre O’Leary
Trombone: Roddy O’Keeffe
Electric Guitar: John Godfrey
Percussion: Alex Petcu
Piano: Michael Joyce
Conductor: Killian Farrell

Free State 9 was presented in association with The National Concert Hall and supported by The Arts Council, Dublin City Council and RTE Lyric fm