Crash Ensemble Ghosts out June 23rd on Bedroom Community.

Monday 12th June, 2017

Crash Ensemble Ghosts out June 23rd on Bedroom Community.
Featuring works by Nico Muhly, Valgeir Sigurðsson, Donnacha Dennehy.

It started when Crash Ensemble commissioned Icelandic composer and Bedroom Community founder Valgeir Sigurðsson to write a work for them for an upcoming concert on Nordic composers. The result was the eerily evocative Ghosts and a relationship was born and grown.
This, alongside the cultural links founded by The Iceland Ireland Project is just one small example of many about how these two islands have become closer and closer in terms of a musical and cultural communication and dialogue.
This relationship has grown since that initial commission, with the group recording an album of works for the label in Dublin which will be released this June. In addition to this, the ensemble joined the rest of Bedroom Community's roster for their 10 year anniversary concert at Harpa, Reykjavík in November 2016 as part of the Iceland Airwaves festival.
In recent times, Crash Ensemble founder Donnacha Dennehy has spent time working from Bedroom Community's Greenhouse studio, writing and recording a new album for violist Nadia Sirota.

Ghosts Track listing
1. Drones, Variations, Ornaments - Nico Muhly
2. Ghosts - Valgeir Sigurðsson
3. Past Tundra - Valgeir Sigurðsson
4. As An Nós - Donnacha Dennehy

Label: Bedroom Community
Release Date: 23rd June 2017
Format: CD/DL
Catalogue Number: HVALUR27

Crash Ensemble have commissioned videos for Ghosts by Irish filmmakers Oonagh Kearney, Laura Sheehan and Jack Phelan. 

Crash Ensemble has already cemented its place at the center of Irish contemporary music in the early 21st century.  Ghosts simply confirms the band’s importance.  The playing is confident and incisive – as it would have to be to negotiate these four works, each of which provides both rhythmic and textural challenges.  Nico Muhly’s “Drones, Variations, Ornaments” unfolds gradually, accumulating restless energy until it sails along on the kinetic rhythms of American post-minimalism.  A striking coda reveals the chamber orchestra lurking beneath the brash new music ensemble.  
Valgeir Sigurdsson also offers two ways of looking at the ensemble.  The title track, Ghosts, features a dark, moody texture that reflects Sigurdsson’s interest in electroacoustic sounds.  Past Tundra is such a marvel of steady, pulsing, but cleverly syncopated rhythm that it may be easy to miss the poignant harmonies that characterize most of the work until its buoyant finale.
Unsurprisingly, Donnacha Dennehy, a co-founder of the ensemble, revels in the “classic” Crash sound in his piece As An Nos, with its layering of rhythmic cells, its instruments echoing or moving in hocket with each other, and its fabric of tightly woven musical threads.  Dennehy offers a kaleidoscopic range of instrumental colors from one moment to the next in the work’s tremulous middle section, but the piece gradually asserts itself and becomes an insistent, chattering conversation of rhythms.   As An Nós (and the record as a whole) presents a real challenge to both band and conductor, but in the best “never let them see you sweat” tradition, Crash pull it off with a bravura finish.
- John Schaefer,  radio host WNYC, author of New Sounds: A Listener's Guide to New Music.'

Crash Ensemble
Violin - Anna Cashell, Viola - Lisa Dowdall, Cello - Kate Ellis, Bass - Malachy Robinson, Flute - Susan Doyle, Clarinet - Deirdre O’Leary, Trombone - Roddy O’Keeffe, Percussion - Owen Gunnell, Electric Guitar - John Godfrey, Piano - Andrew Zolinsky 
Conductor: Alan Pierson 

Artistic Director - Kate Ellis. CEO - Neva Elliott. Concerts Manager - Jonathan Pearson. 

Recorded by 
Alan Kelly - Recording Engineer. Rachel Conlon - Assistant Recording Engineer. Judith Ring - Production Assistant. Recorded at Windmill Lane Studios, Dublin. Mixed & Mastered by Valgeir Sigurðsson at Greenhouse Studios, Reykjavik 

Album portrait: Ros Kavanagh 
Artwork: Chris Bigg 

Bedroom Community is an Icelandic record label/collective formed in 2006 by Valgeir Sigurðsson, with Nico Muhly and Ben Frost, later adding Sam Amidon, Daníel Bjarnason, Puzzle Muteson, Paul Corley, Nadia Sirota and James McVinnie to the intimate roster. 2015 saw two new additions to the family being: Emily Hall & Jodie Landau and wild Up.

Presented with funding from the Arts Council Music Recording Scheme, managed by Music Network.