Jonathan Nangle 'Pause' feat. Crash Ensemble out July 14 on Ergodos

Friday 7th July, 2017

Pause is the debut album from Dublin composer Jonathan Nangle.

His transcendent music for strings is performed by Crash Ensemble.

Nangle's work draws on a carefully selected palette of ravishingly beautiful materials. This is music of serene focus; often fragile, always intricately woven.

In Where distant city lights flicker on half-frozen ponds (2011), Nangle enhances a solo violin with electronic resonators which subtly colour the musical material like a heat shimmer. My heart stopped a thousand beats (2008) is a slow ritual for viola and cello, unhurriedly unfurling into a series of fragments.

The mercurial title track, Pause (2015), was inspired by the idea of data glitches in both music and visual media. A snippet of music by early twentieth-century American composer Charles Ives is processed, rearranged and deliberately glitched, serving as a springboard to new material. The two Fragment tracks also featured on the album are short improvisations on passages that occur within Pause – reflections of fleeting images.

The album closes with Tessellate (2016) for cello and electronics, inspired by the phenomena of tessellations, where a shape is repeated over and over again, covering a plane without any gaps. Here, Nangle works with skewed repetition to create a feeling of inevitable groove, at once highly compelling and ungraspable.

The video aspect of the title track Pause features the young Irish ballet dancer, Jamie Haughton. Filmed over two days, the video is an amalgamation of short snippets of material, caught in a loop like VHS video stuck on pause. Watch it here...

Jonathan Nangle (1981) is a composer whose work explores many diverse fields – from notated acoustic and electro-acoustic compositions, through live and spatially distributed electronics, to video, sound installation and electronic improvisation. His work has been featured at numerous festivals, choreographed for film and stage, and broadcast internationally.

This release is now available to pre-order. All vinyl orders will be shipped on or before 14 July 2017. Downloads will be available by the same date, but you’ll get the tracks right away with your pre-order.